POLL: What has most influenced your spiritual growth?

This is a tough question — especially if you have to only pick one. But give it a try! What has impacted you the most?

  1. #1 by Jarred Spengler on February 12, 2010 - 12:35 pm

    Though I think all of these things are important, as every sensible believer should, I fell that I was most influenced by reading the word of God and seeking Him out.
    I spent time in the Bible every morning and slowly began seeing my life change; not because I sought him in the morning, but because I consistently sought him every day.
    What you do consistently is what you soon will be.

  2. #2 by lukesimmons on February 12, 2010 - 12:40 pm

    Jarred, there’s no doubt that when we don’t eat much from the Scriptures our faith starves. John Piper’s article on this will be an encouragement to you and will affirm what you said:http://www.desiringgod.org/ResourceLibrary/TasteAndSee/ByDate/1997/3061_Please_Feed_Me_More/

  3. #3 by Barbara Dillard on February 12, 2010 - 10:51 pm

    My recent personal revival began with a commitment to obedience, no matter what my personal feelings were. As I walk through the doors of obedience, my faith is affirmed and I see God at work in my life. It is almost as if I had to purpose in my heart to obey at all costs in order to experience what I longed for in terms of intimacy with Him.

  4. #4 by lukesimmons on February 13, 2010 - 4:25 pm

    Barbara, that is a huge step. If our obedience is partial or conditional, then it’s unlikely that God really has mastery over our hearts. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

