Would you die for Jesus? How do you know?

Steve Timmis, co-author of Total Church and Western Europe Acts 29 Director, recently posted a series of tweets on laying down your life for Jesus his thoughts are worth sharing. These are in the order that he wrote them.

  • How can I be sure I would lay down my life for sake of Jesus & the gospel? Perhaps I’ll be like Peter in his bravado and subsequent denial?
  • Can’t ultimately be sure until I’m called on to do so. But there are indicators in what I am reluctant to give up…
  • If I’m not prepared to give up my bed to go and serve someone, I can be fairly confident I won’t give up my life…
  • If I refuse to give up a holiday abroad so I can support someone in gospel ministry, I can be fairly confident I won’t give up my life…
  • If I’m not willing to pursue people who are different from me in order to bless them, I can be fairly certain I won’t give up my life…
  • If I’m not prepared to miss out on promotion so I can stay & help plant churches, I can be fairly certain I won’t give up my life…
  • If I’m not prepared to jeopardise a friendship so that I can tell others about Christ, I can be fairly certain I won’t give up my life.
  • “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.” Jesus Christ

Which of these stand out the most to you?

HT: Acts29 Blog

, ,

  1. #1 by Chrystal on January 5, 2010 - 1:01 pm

    The second-to-last one hit closest to home. So much of my tolerance of other people in the name of love is truly just glorified selfishness and fear of man. I’m unwilling to break the silence on standards and convictions because of how inconvenient it will be for me–how awkward their censure would feel–not because I’m concerned about them. My selfishness can appear so altruistic at times ;) God’s grace is such a beautiful thing. Bless you!

  2. #2 by lukesimmons on January 5, 2010 - 1:35 pm

    Yes, Chrystal, I think you’re right. Sin and selfishness really are deceitful. Thanks for your thought.

  3. #3 by Brian Frahm on January 5, 2010 - 2:31 pm

    The fourth bullet… about forgoing pleasure to support missions… that one is convicting to me.

    John Piper writes positively in ‘Desiring God’ about Jesus statement: “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.” Self-denial must be accompanied by following Christ, or it is merely a morally neutral action. The following of Christ that comes from self-denial is what brings joy and closeness to the relationship.

    Thanks for the good post.

Leave a Reply

