Set Your Mind on Christ Challenge – Day 3

I hope you’re hanging in there with the challenge. I’m sure enjoying all the rich lessons from immersing myself in Jesus this week. Be sure to leave your comments and questions. We’d love to hear how this is shaping you!

Observations:

  • Jesus’ ministry is constantly proclaiming good news with his mouth and being good news with his deeds.
  • Jesus expects that his people will obey him. This theme is relentless (6:46; 8:15, 21; 11:28).
  • Jesus has authority over nature (calming storm), legions of demons (the Demoniac), sickness (the woman with the issue of blood), and even death (Jairus’ daughter).
  • Following Jesus means following him into costly suffering (9:22-27, 57-62).
  • We should listen to Jesus, God’s Son (9:35)
  • Jesus equates following him with “proclaiming the kingdom of God” (9:60).
  • Jesus longs for kingdom workers to go to the harvest fields (10:2).
  • Loving our neighbor happens anytime his need meets our opportunity (10:25-37).
  • Our serving should not get in the way of our humble listening to Jesus (10:41-42).
  • Our prayer life should begin with adoring God’s fame and seeking first his kingdom, even before our needs (11:2).
  • God would love to give the Holy Spirit to those who ask (11:13).
  • Jesus cares more about the heart than the outward appearance (11:39-44).

How would I be different if this truth were explosively alive in my innermost being?

  • I would not only be willing to serve those in need, but eager to do so. Jesus seems eager to bless people, help them, and care for them. Even when the crowds get overwhelming or the need seems too great, he doesn’t get flustered. Rather, he helps them with grace and truth. May God make me a man who loves to serve!

What about you? How is God using this passage in your life? Questions or Comments?

, ,

  1. #1 by Colleen on October 14, 2009 - 10:51 am

    All of these verses show a purposeful Jesus. He very calmly wanted everyone to know His message. He wasn’t shouting His message, he even calmly addressed people’s thoughts, not just their outspoken words. He recruited others to help spread the message, the 12 disciples and the 70 others, and the love of God to all who would listen. He was also very specific about how to handle those who didn’t listen (dusting off the dirt of those cities who didn’t listen). He never was angry or seemed anxious about delivering His message. The underlying feel was always love and specific, to the core, preaching. He has a way of making it obvious, even through parables such as the one about the good samaritan or the person who owed more debt than the other person. His messages are simple: love, follow Him, and live according to His teachings. Why then do we complicate it so much??? It’s like having the instructions on how to put something together but not looking at them and trying to figure it out (and all the pieces) all on our own. I am not focusing my thoughts on things above. If God says all things work for the good of those who love Him, why do I always want to take control?? I don’t know about anyone else but I realize I do this and I get so frustrated at my self. Why am I over complicating something that isn’t mine to complicate??? Why can’t I just follow His messages: love, follow, and live according to Him?

  2. #2 by Brian Frahm on October 14, 2009 - 11:28 pm

    Getting late in the day, so will just post a quick one…

    “Blessed rather are those who hear the word of God and keep it!”

    I come to God’s word to hear his voice, but how often do I follow through on what he asks of me? If this truth is explosively alive in me, my life needs to be changing daily as a result of it.

    Please pray that the Spirit would do that work in me

  3. #3 by carolyn on October 17, 2009 - 12:33 am

    I found myself thinking a lot with these chapters about how we are not to be ashamed of our relationship with Christ. It was following an afternoon where I was with a group of friends who started discussing a family on TV that has 18+ children. She was saying negative things about the family, and one of her criticisms was “they are Christians”. I don’t know much about this family (although I did know who she was referring too) but I sat there silently. I then read how Jesus commanded the demon possessed man that wanted to come with him to return home, and “share how much Jesus had done for him.” Later in my reading I was surprised to read how after the transfiguration Peter, James, and John “kept silent and told no one in those days of what they had seen.” I found myself thinking if they were afraid people would think they were crazy. And later, why didn’t I speak up when my friend was critical of “Christians”?
    Was I afraid? Was I ashamed of Christ? I don’t think I am, yet given an opportunity to speak up, I sat silently. It’s comforting to know that even the disciples who knew him in the flesh, sometimes did not speak up, or even denied him. Yet I also believe I’m not called to sit silently given a chance to speak up on His behalf–at least to tell people what Jesus has done for me and why I am a Christian. I pray that I will become bold and let the Holy Spirit speak through me given any opportunity.

Leave a Reply

