Set Your Mind on Christ Challenge – Day 2

Wow — there is so much great stuff in Luke 4-7! Lots of challenging truths and examples. It’s wonderful to just take a plunge into Jesus’ life, teaching, and ministry. Here are some of the ways this passage is encouraging me. Be sure to leave your comments and questions.

Observations:

  • Jesus was constantly led by the Holy Spirit (4:1, 14).
  • The word of God was soaked into Jesus life in a way that helped him overcome temptation (4:4, 8, 12).
  • Jesus’ ministry was holistic — he cared about the whole person’s life (4:18-19). This was reflected in his teaching, healing, and demon-outcasting.
  • Jesus taught and did ministry with unique authority (4:32; 7:7-8)
  • Jesus can and does forgive sin (5:23-24).
  • Wildly sinful people LOVED to be around Jesus (5:29).
  • Jesus bathed his big decisions in extensive prayer (6:12).
  • Jesus’ values were counter-cultural and upside down from the world (6:20-36).
  • Jesus expects us to obey him. To call him Lord and not obeying him would be ridiculous (6:46).
  • Jesus was so much fun to be around that he was accused of being a glutton and a drunk (7:34).
  • The natural response to radical grace is radical worship (7:47).

How would I be different if this truth were explosively alive in my innermost being?

  • The main thing that struck me here was the radical holiness of Jesus mixed with his incredible liveliness and fun. If this truth were explosively alive in my life, I would be deeply committed to personal holiness and godliness while also being lots of fun. It’s usually not hard to try to have fun, but it is harder to be radically holy. Then, when I am focused on holiness, it’s easy to get kind of stodgy, uptight, and overly serious. May God make me both holy and fun, so that extreme sinners would love being around me but would always sense an authentic commitment to costly obedience.

What about you? How is God using this passage in your life? Questions or Comments?

, ,

  1. #1 by Kristie Braselton on October 13, 2009 - 5:04 pm

    All of the references to being led by the Spirit, in the power of the Spirit, etc jumped out at me too. Just a reminder of both my dependence on the Spirit’s power and of just how great of a power is accessible to me like you talked about on Sunday.

    Another thing I noticed was that even though there were crowds of sick people that needed healing, Jesus still spent time in prayer and solitude. That’s comforting in the face of overwhelming poverty, injustice, and oppression. We just need to faithfully do what we’ve been called to, and even when there are unmet needs surrounding us we can still treasure time alone with Lord. Though the time could have been spent feeding the hungry or caring for the sick, Jesus obviously knew that time with the Father was of utmost importance. It could be easy to get swept up into this social justice movement and neglect the very reason we do it and the power by which we accomplish.

  2. #2 by Vicki Langer on October 13, 2009 - 5:32 pm

    Luke: Thanks for putting your perspective on this. I never thought of Jesus as lively and fun before. It gives me something to ponder. Different viewpoints are great. Food for thought.

  3. #3 by Brian Frahm on October 13, 2009 - 7:16 pm

    Day 2 observations:

    1) Satan waited until Jesus was near/at the greatest point of human weakness to tempt him. Satan probably determined that this was the best time to tempt Jesus. Makes me think of how Jacob tricked Esau – at a point of extreme hunger.

    2) Jesus went from his baptism straight into testing – we should not expect differently for ourselves.

    3) Wonder if the three temptations were “three of many” or the only three? Was Satan satisfied that these were the best three in his arsenal?

    4) Jesus knew the Scriptures well enough to combat temptation with them. Even Satan uses (twists) Scripture to tempt, thus it is important for me to understand both context of verses and the whole of Scripture so as not to twist it myself.

    5) I wonder if the people of Galilee were curious where Jesus ‘disappeared’ to for 40 days? They had witnessed his baptism, but then he was nowhere to be found for over a month!

    6) Jesus’ message in Nazareth was perceived as “gracious” until it challenged them. How is my response when I am challenged with the truth?

    7) In Capernaum, the demon declares Jesus to be the “Holy One of God”. It is hard to remember sometimes that demons are fallen angels that once spent time in heaven worshipping the preincarnate Jesus as Creator God. They still cannot seem to help but crying out who he is!

    8) Peter’s response to Jesus’ miracle of providing the full nets of fish was great: “Depart from me, for I am a sinful man, O Lord.” While Peter said these words, his faith was growing and actually drawing him to the Lord, not pushing him away from Christ. Isaiah had a similar response in Isaiah c6v5: “Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, for my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of Hosts!”

    9) Jesus would “withdraw to desolate places and pray”. What lesson can be learned from this? Prayer is obviously crucial to the human condition, as Jesus was very focused on it in his time on earth. Solitude and thus lack of distraction seem to be in view.

    10) When Jesus healed the paralytic, it seems that everyone might have been meeting in his house in Capernaum (see accounts in Matthew and Mark)… if so, the guys tore a hole in his roof! :) Handy to be a carpenter in that case… :)

    I am not finished reading Chapter 7 yet… but it has been a great section! :)

  4. #4 by carolyn on October 14, 2009 - 7:24 am

    What leaped off the pages of these chapters to me this morning was this command: “Give to everyone who begs from you.” And then later, “Why do you call me Lord, and not obey?” We spent time this past weekend downtown with family that was visiting, as well as attending a sporting event, and I was approached multiple times (4-5) by beggars. I turned them all down, or walked by without even looking at them. I know all the thoughts on “they’ll just go buy liquor, drugs, etc.”, yet reading this verse it sounds like Jesus is saying EVERYONE to me. Does everyone mean everyone? I remember hearing of a friend’s solution to that dilemma–having little boxes with practical gifts available to give to them. Maybe I need to put together some of those boxes or constantly carry around a pocketful of $5 bills. What do some of the rest of you think about that command. Is is a command?

Leave a Reply

