Should We Sing This Song?

Have you heard about the story of the Hillsong hit song “Healer”?

Here’s a quote from an article that explains the controversy:

He preached to thousands about his terminal illness and tugged at hearts with a hit song. The problem is the pastor wasn’t dying at all.

Michael Guglielmucci, who inspired hundreds of thousands of young Christians with his terminal cancer “battle”, has been exposed as a fraud…

Earlier this year, Mr Guglielmucci released a hit song, Healer , which was featured on Sydney church Hillsong’s latest album. The song debuted at No. 2 on the ARIA charts. It since has become an anthem of faith for believers, many of whom are suffering their own illness and were praying for a miracle for Mr Guglielmucci, who has claimed for two years to be terminally ill.

Below, you can watch YouTube clips of both the song and a news story and interview after the truth came out…but the big question is, should we sing this song at Second Mile? Why or why not? Leave your comment below. I’d love to hear what you think and why.

The song…

The scandal…

,

  1. #1 by Hannah on July 15, 2009 - 8:45 am

    17 The former preach Christ out of selfish ambition, not sincerely, supposing that they can stir up trouble for me while I am in chains.[a] 18But what does it matter? The important thing is that in every way, whether from false motives or true, Christ is preached. And because of this I rejoice.

    Phil. 1:17-18

  2. #2 by Brian Frahm on July 15, 2009 - 9:12 am

    Wow… I had briefly heard about this, but never took the time to hear the whole story until now.

    I listened to the song… and I really liked it. I appreciate Hannah’s post of Philippians 1:17-18. We have to be very careful in holding Christian musicians to an unattainable standard of holiness…

    The men God used to write His inspired word were also sinners: King David was an adulterer and a murderer, King Solomon was a womanizer, Peter cut a guy’s ear off and publicly denied Christ. I agree that Mr. Guglielmucci was very deceptive and dishonest. Sin is painful and affects more than just yourself…. he is seeing that now.

    The song itself is very uplifting. The theology is good in it. I am not singing worship songs to the composer/writer (ie Chris Tomlin, Matt Redman, David Crowder), but rather to the One for whom the songs point us to.

  3. #3 by Brian on July 15, 2009 - 9:49 am

    • I’d have a harder time singing this song now that I’ve heard about this controversy. I think I would be distracted by this knowledge.

    • Pardon my bluntness, but praise songs are a dime a dozen. You can find many more (and frankly better) songs for us to sing on Sunday.

    • Phil 1: 17-18 is about people preaching the gospel out of selfish motives, not about praise songs. Context is very important here. To argue that this song is preaching Christ is really a stretch.

  4. #4 by Tabatha on July 15, 2009 - 3:47 pm

    I bet that his addiction feels like cancer to him. I hope that now that he has confessed this he will be able to find true freedom in Christ.

    I am thinking about Rom 3:23 which says…for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. Instead of condemning him for his sin we should stand together in prayer for this man who has gone public with a very real problem in our society today. I know that God will use this for good and I pray that the truth will set this man free!

    As far as singing the song at Second Mile, I would probably associate it with this story and might be a little distracted but I hope it would cause me to want to pray for healing for this man and for him to find true freedom in Christ.

  5. #5 by Tyler on July 16, 2009 - 7:57 pm

    In no way do I condone what this man has done. Though I believe this is an incredible picture of how God works wonders through our mess. Personally I think it is quite a picture of how God works. He creates beauty out of absolute junk. It is no surprise to me that God would produce a song that would bless thousands through a man who is telling a deep lie. Kind of like how He has and continues to use murders, thieves, and adulterers to carry forth the Grand Plan of Redemption. So why would be surprised that God would use a liar to produce a wonderful song of praise? Remember God gave us this song. The story produces in me a deeper sense of God’s amazing grace on behalf of sinners.

  6. #6 by Tyler on July 16, 2009 - 8:05 pm

    one more thing….. every good and precious gift comes down from the Father of lights

  7. #7 by Jana Luce on July 19, 2009 - 3:42 pm

    I like this song and I don’t mind singing this song in the midst of this controversy. To avoid it, I think would be somewhat of a cop-out. Why not face this head-on and take this as a godly-opportunity to talk with the body of the church? Maybe this song could be prefaced with something like this… This song is not about Michael Guglielmucci, but it’s about God — how God has the power to heal in the midst of our hurt, ache, and sin. This song is about Him and not about us. We are all sinners and no matter how great our sin, God is greater.

    It is called “Healer” for a reason. This song is not called “Healed”. No matter how badly we screw up, God always forgives. Don’t make it about Michael Guglielmucci. Repentance is between him and Christ. It is a private matter and not up to us to judge. We are all Michael Guglielmucci to some extent, aren’t we? As much as we want to focus on the human part of this controversy and bring it down to our level (Satan just loves that), let’s focus on God and who He is. He is the Ultimate “Healer”.

    …and might I add the Ultimate “Forgiver”. Collosians 3:13 commands, “Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.” Again, “Forgive as the Lord forgave you.” Again, “Forgive as the Lord forgave you.” Again and again… what an awesome teaching opportunity.

  1. My Thoughts on “Healer” « Second Mile Church Blog

Leave a Reply

