It worked for Jesus, but it won’t for me

I read something in Hebrews yesterday that struck me as interesting. Hebrews 5:7 says, “In the days of his flesh, Jesus offered up prayers and supplications, with loud cries and tears, to him who was able to save him from death, and he was heard because of his reverence.” The word reverence is also translated as “devotion,” “piety,” and “reverent submission.” In other words, Jesus was heard by his Father because of his obedience and absolutely holy life.

It struck me that I will never, ever relate to God this way. While Jesus related to God on the basis of his own piety, I must always rely on the piety of another. I am never good enough, devoted enough, or reverent enough to approach God on my own.

Nonetheless, God does hear me. I know he does. Why, you ask? Because of Jesus. Though I can’t approach God on my own, I do “have confidence to enter the holy places by the blood of Jesus” (Heb 10:19).  God is continually answering my prayers in amazing ways. And it’s all because of Jesus. What a Savior!

, ,

  1. #1 by rymes52 on August 20, 2008 - 4:04 pm

    2 Cor 1:20 For all the promises of God find their Yes in him. That is why it is through him that we utter our Amen to God for his glory.

  2. #2 by Brian on August 21, 2008 - 8:28 am

    You hit the nail on the head with that one Luke. Jesus is not just our example, or “coach”, but our Substitute.

    Brian

Leave a Reply

