Throwing Mountains

Today I read this text in Matthew 21:21-22,

“Truly, I say to you, if you have faith and do not doubt, you will not only do what has been done to the fig tree, but even if you say to this mountain, ‘Be taken up and thrown into the sea,’ it will happen. And whatever you ask in prayer, you will receive, if you have faith.”

I’m always blown away at the boldness of Jesus’ teaching about prayer. While I am eager to explain all the reasons why prayer doesn’t always produce the desired answer, Jesus is trying to teach me that I can’t out-ask God’s resources. My prayers are never too big for God.

As Second Mile Church begins to take shape, my prayer is that it would be a community of people who are drawing on the power of God and doing the impossible through his power (i.e. “throwing mountains”).

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

