Do for One What You Wish You Could Do for Everyone

This past Sunday we talked about the values of Proclamation and Demonstration — the idea that Jesus talked about the good news of his Kingdom and also did actions that proved his love.

I joyfully borrowed from Andy Stanley’s principle, “Do for one what you wish you could do for everyone.” It’s a helpful principle, especially in light of how many overwhelming needs there are in our cities and communities.

I’d encourage you to watch a recent message that Stanley gave on this entitled, “One, Not Everyone.” In particular, don’t miss his personal story of how he has seen this principle work out in a very powerful way (starts around the 20:00 mark).

Click here to watch the message.

For more on how this principle impacts leadership, check out his recent podcast on the same topic. (If you are a leader in any capacity, you should subscribe to Stanley’s Leadership Podcast).

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Travis on March 10, 2011 - 10:16 am

    For some reason Stanley’s principle you mention reminded me of the categorical imperative in Immanuel Kant’s philosophy, which in its most famous formulation stated the ‘maxim’ implied by a proposed action for it to be ‘moral’ must be that one can will it to become a universal law of nature. In other words, if you would act morally, only perform an action you would wish would also be a binding universal law of human behavior. This may not be related to his message at all, which I haven’t listened to.

    But I’m curious why Stanley’s ‘one, not everyone’ would be a revolutionary thought. Between Jesus’ teaching of the ‘Golden Rule’ (Matt. 7:12)–a positive formulation of an older ethic previously given only in the negative phrasing of ‘you not do to others what you would not wish them to do to you’ (e.g., as in the sayings of Confucius or Hillel)–and his encouragement for acts of ‘mercy’: ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me’ (Matt. 25:40), I’d think Stanley’s point (if not redundant) superseded. (But maybe he uses these passages in his message?) I guess what I mean is why not highlight Jesus’ ethic for our actions toward others directly instead of however it may be packaged in Stanley’s message and principle.

  2. #2 by Luke Simmons on March 10, 2011 - 2:28 pm

    Travis, great to hear from you! Greetings across the pond. Not sure I totally tracked everything you wrote, and I’m not sure that Stanley’s idea is that revolutionary. I think it’s just helpful in a day when the number of needs far exceeds our ability to meet them all. We often need to hear that just because we can’t meet all the needs doesn’t mean we shouldn’t meet the ones we can. It’s nothing new and not really an attempt to be so. Just another way of saying love your neighbor as yourself.

  3. #3 by Travis on March 12, 2011 - 2:25 pm

    Luke,

    Not sure I understood everything I wrote either. Maybe I shouldn’t make comments while in the middle of a long day of reading! I think Kant came up in my mind because of the comparison of one to everyone, but that wasn’t the point Stanley was making I understand.

    But love your neighbor as yourself sounds good.

  4. #4 by Benjer McVeigh on October 20, 2011 - 12:48 pm

    Love Stanley’s quote, especially as it applies to leadership. Thanks for pointing us to it!

  5. #5 by http://planetmaestro.com on May 23, 2013 - 5:57 pm

    Hi, all is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing facts, that’s actually fine, keep up writing.

  6. #6 by emorroidi cura on May 26, 2013 - 4:05 pm

    Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your content seem to be running off the screen in Chrome.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon.
    Kudos

  7. #7 by instantfreebackgroundcheck.com on June 14, 2013 - 2:16 am

    Excellent post. I will be going through a few of these issues as well.
    .

  8. #8 by wartune hack tool v2.1 on July 11, 2013 - 12:41 pm

    Starting from building cities and empires as in lethal
    warzone hacked, Grepolis, etc to the fighting against evil enemies in
    Age of Empires, Lost Saga, etc, the age of mmorpg online
    games has come too far in terms of development. I
    honestly believe that if he had played against Vanderbilt, the second half of Kentucky, and possibly the full or most of the Troy
    game that he could have been a potential Heisman finalists.
    He gained 15 pounds, most in his lower body, and is a much bigger and
    faster version of the 2010 Marcus Lattimore.

  9. #9 by mobile apps on July 19, 2013 - 2:27 am

    What i don’t realize is in reality how you are not actually a lot more smartly-preferred than you may be now. You are so intelligent. You realize thus significantly when it comes to this subject, produced me in my view consider it from a lot of varied angles. Its like women and men don’t seem to be involved except it’s something to do with Girl gaga! Your individual stuffs outstanding. Always handle it up!

  10. #10 by Eunice on July 27, 2013 - 2:24 pm

    Your method of describing the whole thing in this article
    is actually good, all can effortlessly understand it,
    Thanks a lot.

  11. #11 by imaginarysocialite.com on August 2, 2013 - 10:05 pm

    Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad and tested to see if it can
    survive a 30 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My iPad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know
    this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  12. #12 by Xavier on August 3, 2013 - 3:14 pm

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already
    ;) Cheers!

  13. #13 by Natasha on August 5, 2013 - 9:12 am

    Wow, amazing blog structure! How lengthy have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The whole look of your website is fantastic, as neatly as the content!

  14. #14 by http://comb93glen.Exteen.com/20130818/leveling-guidebook-for-candy-crush-1 on August 31, 2013 - 2:51 am

    I’m pretty pleased to find this site. I want to
    to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!!
    I definitely really liked every part of it and
    i also have you saved as a favorite to check out new things on your website.

  15. #15 by http://reviewsonphen375news.blogspot.com on September 16, 2013 - 11:38 pm

    Hi there colleagues, pleasant post and pleasant urging commented at this place,
    I am really enjoying by these.

  16. #16 by criminal case cheat on September 17, 2013 - 9:56 am

    A fascinating discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I think that you need to write more about this issue, it may not be
    a taboo subject but typically people don’t speak about
    such issues. To the next! Cheers!!

  17. #17 by www.43things.com on September 18, 2013 - 11:12 am

    I just could not depart your site before suggesting that
    I extremely loved the standard info an individual supply for your visitors?
    Is going to be back regularly to investigate cross-check
    new posts

  18. #18 by statutory rape cruise ship on September 27, 2013 - 1:00 pm

    - Dermabrasion: Dermabrasion is a treatment that uses an abrasive device to sand away the upper layer of tissue.
    1 and 2 to part 736 provide for certain General Orders and Administrative Orders.

    In court filings, Kris’ attorney Marshall Waller
    stated, ‘What is really going on here is that an ‘urgency’ in the form
    of an apparently unplanned pregnancy, something the Respondent had nothing to do with, is
    perceived by Plaintiff as an opportunity to gain a litigation advantage by trying to force this court to prematurely set this matter for trial’.

  19. #19 by Steffen on January 8, 2014 - 8:56 am

    very moving story. thanks for giving the link. you can learn a lot from the video.

  20. #20 by world news zombie attacks on April 4, 2014 - 5:41 pm

    You made some really good points there. I checked on the web for more
    info about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this web site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

